## **Sheriff Otto Langum**

1911 On April 1, burglars used dynamite to blow the door off the safe in the post office, getting away with about \$50 in cash and \$200 in stamps. Two mail sacks were found on the M&SL tracks, about 3/4 mile away. "Half the townspeople were aroused by the noise, but early search failed to get any trace of the cracksmen," reported the *Minneapolis Journal*. The thieves had apparently broken into a tool shed near the tracks to get two sledgehammers and a crowbar. It was postulated that the thieves entered the building the night before while the Ladies' Aid Society of the Methodist church had a fair in the hall above the store. The article mentioned that the Sheriff was Otto Langum.

## HENNEPIN COUNTY SHERIFFS

Hennepin County has had an elective Sheriff since the county was established in 1852. We thank the Hennepin History Museum for the following list. Sheriff Donald J. Omodt is making a comprehensive study of all of the Hennepin County sheriffs and will provide us with additional information and corrections for this site in the future.

Isaac Brown	1852-53
Benjamin Messer	1854-55
Benjamin Baker	1856-57
Edward Lippincott	1858-1861
Richard Strout	1862-1864
Winslow M. Brackett	1865-1866
William Byrnes	1867
Henry Hicks	1868-1870
George H. Johnson	1871-1876
Nathaniel Thompson	1877-1880
J. Mace Eustis	1881-1882
James Stoddart	1883-1884
Winslow Brackett	1885-1886
Peter Swensen	1887-1888 & 1891-1892
James Ege	1889-1890 & 1893-1894
John Holmberg	1895-1896
Alonzo Phillips	1897-1898
Philip Megaarden	1899-1901
John Dreger	1902-1908
Otto S. Langum	1909-1918
Oscar Martinson	1919-1920
Earle Brown	1920-1929 & 1942-1946
John P. Wall	1929-1942

Ed Ryan	1947-1966
Don Omodt	1967-1994

Pat McGowan January 1995 to December 2006

Richard W. Stanek 2007-